The Newport Regional Planning Commission meets the 4th Tuesday of every month following the Newport Board of Zoning Appeals at 3:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of Newport City Hall. The Newport Board of Zoning Appeals is comprised of the same board members as the NRPC.


The members are as follows:

Cecil Gilland - Chairman
Jim McSween-Secretary
Rick Carr
Randall Freeman 
Terry White 
Steve Smith- Alderman
Roland Dykes - Mayor of Newport


Please call city hall at 423-623-6565 to inquire about building permits, site plan requirements, land usage, setbacks from property lines, zoning issues or items to be placed upon the agenda of the NRPC and/or BZA 10 days prior to the meeting. 

Community Development Director Gary Carver email
Building Inspector Mark Robinson email


Home | About Us | Government | City Hall | Departments | Charter/Policies/Ordinances | City Countil Meeting Minutes | Community Calendar | Permits, License & Forms | Property Report Form | Frequently Asked Questions | ADA Transition Plan and Grievance Policy | Helpful Links | Council Meeting Videos | Photo Slide Shows | Employment | Notice of Bids | Web Site Map | Contact Us
Printer-friendly Version