Meet Our Mayor and Council


The City of Newport was granted a municipal charter through a Private Act of the State of Tennessee's General Assembly in 1903.  The governing board of the City of Newport consists of an elected Mayor (non-voting) and five Aldermen.  Elections are held for the six positions every four years for a four year term.


The City of Newport Board of Mayor and Aldermen meet on the second Tuesday of every month, with the meetings scheduled to start at 5:30 p.m.  The meetings are held at the Newport City Hall, located at 300 E. Main Street, Newport, TN 37821. 







Home | About Us | Government | City Hall | Departments | Charter/Policies/Ordinances | City Countil Meeting Minutes | Community Calendar | Permits, License & Forms | Property Report Form | Frequently Asked Questions | ADA Transition Plan and Grievance Policy | Helpful Links | Council Meeting Videos | Photo Slide Shows | Employment | Notice of Bids | Web Site Map | Contact Us
Printer-friendly Version